User Tools

Site Tools


This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

anuyoga [2014/09/17 19:42] (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +{{Template:​9yanas articles
 +|title=8. Yana of anuyoga
 +|sanskrit=anuyoga yāna
 +|phonetics=naljor gyü kyi tekpa
 +|wylie=rjes su rnal 'byor gyi theg pa
 +'''​Anuyoga'''​ (Skt.; Tib. [[རྗེས་སུ་རྣལ་འབྱོར་གྱི་ཐེག་པ་]],​ [[Wyl.]] ''​rjes su rnal '​byor'';​ Eng. '​subsequent yoga') — the second of the [[three yanas of powerful transformative methods]] specific to the [[Nyingma]] school. ​
 +Anuyoga focuses mainly on the [[completion stage]] (Tib. ''​dzogrim''​),​ and emphasizes the inner yoga of [[Psycho-physical system|channels,​ winds-energies and essences]] (Tib. ''​tsa lung tiklé''​). Visualization of the deities is generated instantly, rather than through a gradual process as in [[Mahayoga]]. ​
 +==Overview Given by [[Alak Zenkar Rinpoche]]<​ref>​{{LH|tibetan-masters/​alak-zenkar/​nine-yanas|''​A Brief Presentation of the Nine Yanas''​ by Alak Zenkar Rinpoche}}</​ref>​==
 +The vehicle of Anuyoga , or ‘following yoga’, is so-called because it mainly teaches the path of passionately pursuing (or ‘following’) [[wisdom]], in the realization that all phenomena are the creative expression of the indivisible unity of [[absolute space]] and [[primordial wisdom]].
 +===Entry Point===
 +One’s mind is matured through the thirty-six [[empowerment]]s in which the four rivers—outer,​ inner, accomplishing and secret—are complete, and one keeps the [[samaya]]s as described in the texts.
 +Through logical reasoning one determines that which is to be known, the fact that all phenomena are characterized as being the [[three mandalas]] in their fundamental nature, and realizes that this is so.
 +Meditation practice here consists of two paths. On the [[path of liberation]] one practises the non-conceptual [[samadhi]] of simply resting in a state that accords with the essence of reality itself, and the conceptual samadhi of deity practice, in which one visualizes the [[mandala]] of supporting palace and supported deities simply by reciting the [[mantra]] of generation. On the [[path of skilful means]] one generates the wisdom of bliss and emptiness through the practices of the upper and lower gateways.
 +One practises the conduct that is beyond adopting or abandoning in the recognition that all perceptions are but the display of the wisdom of great bliss.
 +At the culmination of Anuyoga’s own uncommon [[five yogas]], which are essentially its five paths, and the [[Ten Stages according to Anuyoga|ten stages]] that are included within these five, one attains the level of [[Samantabhadra]].
 +There are two sections of Anuyoga:
 +*sutra (Wyl. ''​mdo''​)<​ref>​The sutras of Anuyoga are different from the [[shravaka]],​ [[pratyekabuddha]] and [[bodhisattva]] [[sutra]]s.</​ref>​ and
 +*agama (Wyl. ''​lung''​).
 +==Tantras of Anuyoga==
 +The Anuyoga tantras are classified as: 
 +Four root tantras:
 +#The ''​Sutra which Gathers All Knowledge'':​ ''​kun 'dus rig pa'i mdo''​ (''​spyi mdo''​)
 +#The ''​[[Sutra which Gathers All Intentions]]'':​ ''​sangs rgyas thams chad dgongs pa 'dus pa''​ (Tib. ''​Do Gongpa Düpa''​ or ''​Düpa Do''​)<​ref>​P. Cornu says that this tantra is an explanation of the first one. Somehow it seems that these first two root tantras are sometimes amalgamated or confused together in modern sources.</​ref>​
 +#''​ye shes rngam glog''​
 +#''​gsang ba dur khrod khu byug rol ba''​
 +Six branch tantras:
 +#''​kun tu bzang po ch'e ba rang la gnas pa'i rgyud''​
 +#''​dbang bskur rgyal po''​
 +#''​ting 'dzin mch'​og''​
 +#''​skabs sbyor bdun pa''​
 +#''​srtson pa don ldan''​
 +#''​dam thsig bkod pa''​
 +Twelve rare tantras
 +==The Lineage of Anuyoga==
 +[[Image:​Sangye Yeshe.jpg|thumb|250px|[[Nupchen Sangyé Yeshé]]]]
 +[[King Dza]], who also received the Mahayoga tantras, received the Anuyoga tantras from [[Vajrapani]] and Licchavi Vimalakirti—one of the [[Five Excellent Ones of Sublime Nobility]] who received the Anuyoga tantras from Vajrapani at the summit of [[Mount Malaya]]. They were in turn transmitted to the siddha Kukkuraja, and then passed to [[Nupchen Sangyé Yeshé]] who taught them in Tibet.<​ref>​This needs to be checked and developed.</​ref>​
 +An extensive chronological list of lineage holders of the Mahayoga, from [[Buddha Samantabhadra]] to the present day, can be found in [[Tulku Thondup]]'​s works. ''​(see reference below)''​
 +==Further Reading==
 +*[[Dudjom Rinpoche]], ''​The Nyingma School of Tibetan Buddhism, Its Fundamentals and History'',​ trans. and ed. Gyurme Dorje (Boston: Wisdom Publications,​ 1991), Book One, Part Four, Ch. 6 '​Anuyoga',​ pages 284-289 & Book Two.
 +*[[Jamgön Kongtrul]], ''​The Treasury of Knowledge, Book Six, Part Four: Systems of Buddhist Tantra'',​ translated by Elio Guarisco and Ingrid McLeod (Ithaca: Snow Lion, 2005), pages 330-337.
 +*[[Patrul Rinpoche]], ''​[[The Words of My Perfect Teacher]]'',​ translated by Padmakara Translation Group (Boston: Shambhala, 1998), pages 334-335. ​
 +*[[Tulku Thondup]], ''​Masters of Meditation and Miracles'',​ edited by Harold Talbott (Boston: Shambhala, 1999), pages 28-29.
 +[[Category:​Key Terms]]
 +[[Category:​Nine Yanas]]
anuyoga.txt · Last modified: 2014/09/17 19:42 (external edit)